2009 Hall of Fame Induction

The fifth annual Newark High School Sports Hall of Fame induction ceremony took place on Jan. 25, 2009. The Hall of Fame committee and the Newark High School sports boosters would like to congratulate the 2009 Newark Sports Hall of Fame Inductees:

Lauren Anderson, Friend of Sports
Lauren was an avid fan of Newark High School sports from the mid 1960's. He was constant example of what a fan should be to a team. He followed all of the sports, especially both girls and boys basketball and the girls volleyball teams. He made everyone around him smile and enjoy themselves and truly cared for the kids, coaches, and other spectators present at the game. Lauren was the greatest example of what a fan is supposed to be.

1984 Girls Volleyball Team
The '84 volleyball posted many accomplishments during this wonderful year: 23-4 overall record, Little Ten Conference regular season and tournament champions (undefeated), first NHS girls team to win a regional title and advance to the sectional championship match. They lost in a 5-game match to Richmond-Burton in the sectional finals. They were coached by Jon Runkle and had all-conference players Tina (Torkelson) Rose and Monica (Anderson) Williams as well as all-conference honorable mention Tami (Slivka) Fuchs on the team. Other team members included: Gina (Duvick) Kurtz, Jodi (Anderson) Wilkinson, Chris (Leveque) Kitner, Cherry (Olson) Gonnam, Patti (Stege) Lear, Sheila (Gray) Dieter, Laurie (Nagel) Belinski, Maymi (Smith) Heaser, Elin (Knutson) Bender.

2004 Girls Softball Team
The '04 softball team, with an overall record of 25-11-1 and 11-1 in the conference, produced many firsts in NHS history, including Newark High School's first ever sectional championship and supersectional appearance. The 25 wins were also a school record. The girls were also ranked #1 in G.P.A. (3.80) in the nation by National Fast Pitch Coaches Association. The team were the Little Ten Conference Champions as well as the Sandwich Regional Champions. The team was coached by Norm Meier and had all-state members Kelly Friestad and Sarah Eisnaugle as well as all conference players Amy Meier and Stacy Steffes. Other team members included: Rachel Pope, Jacqui Janssen, Lindsay Cihak, Amber Steffes, Laura Whitfield, Elise Tollefson, Angela Slack, Rachel Monkemeyer, Emily Holman, Abby Neupert, Kristen Pribyl, Morgan Michaelson, Hannah Olson, assistant coach Tonya Nagel, and assistant coach Staci Spencer.