2010 Hall of Fame Induction

The sixth annual Newark High School Sports Hall of Fame induction ceremony took place on Jan. 31, 2010. The Hall of Fame committee and the Newark High School sports boosters would like to congratulate the 2010 Newark Sports Hall of Fame Inductees:

Bob Glenn, Friend of Sports
Bob served as Newark High School principal and superintendent from 1958-1968. During those 10 years, Bob was very supportive and involved with the sports programs. Many of the most successful teams at NHS competed during his tenure. He was instrumental in Newark High School’s switch from the Fox Valley Conference to the Little Ten Conference and in getting a referendum passed in 1962 to double the size of the school building.

Si Johnson, Athlete
Silas Johnson, who is most noted for being the last pitcher to strike out Babe Ruth, played baseball at Newark High School, 1923-1926, followed by one year of semi-pro action in Marseilles and one year of minor league ball at Rock Island. He played 17 years in the major leagues for Cincinnati, St. Louis, and Philadelphia. He had a pitching record of 101-165, with 108 complete games and 13 shutouts. His best seasons were in 1933 when he threw two one-hitters and in 1937 when he threw 20 complete games with an ERA of 3.32. He served as pitching coach for Boston from 1947-1952. Upon retiring, he worked at the Sheridan Correctional Center and then ran the Norway Store. Many major leaguers, including Dizzy Dean, Si’s roomate, visited him in Norway, Illinois to go hunting.  Si Johnson passed away in 1994.

2002 Volleyball Team
The 2002 Volleyball Team, with a record of 28-4, coached by Tonya Nagel, included team members Amanda Peterson, Morgan Lechowicz, Sarah Eisnaugle, Julie Carlson, Jeannie Keisler, Kelly Friestad, Amy Meier, Kelly Furr, Rachel Pope, Laura Eddy, Amanda Larson, Melissa Mathre, and Elise Tollefson. The 2002 team was the second ever team at Newark to win a regional title, They finished first in conference at 8-0, won the Little Ten Conference tournament, the Plano tournament, and the Seneca tournament. They were a sectional finalist.

2003-2004 Girls Basketball Team
The 2003-2004 Girls Basketball Team, coached by Mike Hall II, had a 27-3 record. They were conference champs, conference tournament champs, regional champs, and sectional finalists, all for the second consecutive year The team averaged an astonishing 34 point differential during their 27 victories. Team members included Kelly Friestad, Theresa Larson (both 1000 point scorers,) Jeannie Keisler, Rebecca Vanjoske, Laura Eddy, Rachel Pope, Crysta Hatteberg, Jacqui Janssen, Elise Tollefson, Stephanie, Warpinski, Emily Holman, Lacey Slatton, and Alison Hoskins.