2016 Hall of Fame Induction

The eleventh annual Newark High School Sports Hall of Fame induction ceremony took place on Friday, February 12th, 2016. The Hall of Fame committee and the Newark High School Sports Boosters would like to congratulate the 2016 Newark Sports Hall of Fame inductees:

Kyle Anderson, Laura Johnson Anderson
Laura graduated in 2009, played softball and was a four year starter in volleyball and basketball. She is the all time leading scorer for girls basketball at Newark with 1,594 points. As a senior she was selected to the 3rd team 1A All-State and was a key member of the 2008 basketball team that finished second in state. She holds the school volleyball record for number of assists in a year and for career assists. She was one of the greatest players in the history of the Bethel College basketball program as she is in their record book in nine categories. She was first team NAIA All- American and her jersey hangs in the lobby of the athletic center at Bethel.

Kyle graduated in 2011 and was a first team 1A All-State Basketball selection as a junior and senior. His basketball teams had an 84-12 record in his final three seasons. He was a unanimous all-conference basketball selection all four years and he set the Newark High School scoring record with 2,279 points. Kyle played for Division 1 college for the University of Delaware, as a top outside shooter where he set the school record in number of three pointers made. He has played pro ball in Germany and currently plays for the Pontiac 66'ers semi-pro basketball team.

Kyle and Laura are married and have a son.

2010-2011 Boys 1A State Champion Basketball Team
The 2010-2011 Boys Basketball Team had a 33-1 record. They were the first Little Ten Boys Basketball team to win a state championship. They were also undefeated conference champs and conference tournament champs, They won the state championship game by a score of 57-35 as they set or tied six state championship game records, including limiting the opposing team to 33% shooting average.. Team members included Coach Rick Tollefson, assistant coach Jason VanPelt, Kyle Anderson, Jeremy Anderson, Brett Anderson, John Avery, Cameron Berg, Paul Hines, Greg Hughes, Taylor Wright, David Hillard, Jake Ramey, Kenny Kratzer, Andrew Lehmann, and manager Nick Bond.